Shingles or No shingles?

Hi Team,

I came across this part of the roof that does not have shingles on it. I am a new grad and this is only my second inspection so just wanted to get all of your expertise on how you would write something like this up?
I appreciate any input!

Thanks,
Alfonso - Cutting Edge InspectionsRoof Pics

Alfonso, it appears to have some type of roof covering. Maybe rolled roofing or other such covering. It is hard to tell from N. MI.

3 Likes

Have to agree with Larry. It looks like a bituminous membrane which may be sufficient. Not sure why, for aesthetic reasons, they didn’t shingle the overhang also.

As far as stating it, something in the nature of;

" Observed that roofing material used on the porch roof overhang appears to be of a membrane material that may be used as adequate water proofing if applied and installed correctly. Would recommend a licensed roofing contractor for further evaluation of the type of material used and proper installation."

2 Likes

Yup looks like rolled roofing. It’s cheaper than shingles usually and generally has a 5-10 year lifespan give or take.

Alfonso, did you analyze the roofing to see what type of material it was? It looks like a rubber membrane from what I can see from the pic, the oxidizing on the roofing has the characteristics of rubber roofing.

2 Likes

Please tell me you put a ladder up to the eave (at least) to see and touch the material. Also you can photograph it while you’re up there.

2 Likes

Ok sounds good, thanks for the input Thomas!

Ok thanks Larry! Yeah it’s a rolled roofing covering. I guess just a less expensive roofing than shingles.

Ok good to know, thanks Brandon!

Thanks Scott, yeah it’s a rubber membrane. I guess just a cheaper option than traditional shingles.

1 Like

Thanks Dominic, yes ofcourse I did.

Hey Alfonso,