Structural support beam in basement question

So I am a relatively new inspector and structural is my area of least experience.

I have a home with a structural wood beam in the basement which is being supported by the foundation wall on both ends and by two steel jacks intermediately spaced between the two ends.

My first question is: Are adjustable steel jack posts allowed for permanent installation? I didn’t think that they were, but not sure.

Secondly, this beam is in 3 sections. One break in the board is directly on top of one of the jacks. To me, this just doesn’t seem like it could possibly be correct from a physics perspective lol but I don’t know the hard and fast rules. The other break in the beam is farther away from the other jack, about 24-30 inches. Are support beams allowed to not be continuous? If so, what is the approved method for joining them?

Also noted was the sistered beams only being adjoined to each other laterally with nails. Should the individual beams not be sistered together with lag bolts such as ledger boards and such?

Many thanks for all your answers!

well for one, thats really not a beam its just some crappy 2x12 slightly nailed together.
it is okay to use 2x12’s triple stacked with seams at least 6 feet away from eachother, but when constructing this, they need about 300 nails nails holding each 2x12 together. here is looks like they only nailed the seam. Not correct at all.
for the post, that is a temporary type screw jack. not meant to be permanent.
as if the beam was doing its job, it would not need a post.

also whats holding it up at the ends? should be triple 2x4 studs under and full studs on both sides.
if it is held up in the walls, and nailed properly throughout the with good 3 1/2" nails or screws both sides. then you should be able to remove the post.

But it really should be double LVL beam in there.

1 Like

Hey! Thanks for the great information!