Tools for the new inspector

Hi all. As you can tell by the post title, I am new to the business. What I am wondering is if anyone has a comprehensive list of what an inspector “needs” to do a thorough inspections and a list of what would be nice to have, once the business is off the ground? Any input would be appreciated.

Welcome. This topic has been discussed on this board many, many times. Here is one of the threads that it has been discussed in.

http://www.nachi.org/forum/showthread.php?t=7186&highlight=tools

tiff 8800 or 8900 gas detector 8900 is the newer model. inspection mirror. GGIC tester, voltage indicator, circit tester, a good flashlight plus a back up, laser thermometer, moister meter, i also carry a light weight ladder to carry inside the home , and also wal-mart sells a ladder that goes from A frame to extension handy ladder to have the cheaper version of little giant ladder. screw driver set, i also took a pole extension for painting and a screw on paint roller cut off part of the paint roller and then sharpened it to a point. This creates a pole with a point so you can use it to inspect high to reach places so you can probe for rot with out dragging your ladder all around, this is for the out side of the home just be careful dont cause any damage or you’ll be paying for it. p.s keep extra money for marketing or you wont need any of those tools, its slow getting referals at first. Also wait to get e and o insureance to you get your first client lined up no reason to pay until you get some work lined up.

Tim, I have a Brand New Tif8800 for sale NEVER USED…STILL IN BOX… 140.00 I payed over 225.00 for it, i will ship it you for no cost to you , Please let me know if you need it, my e-mail

is g67@earthlink.net

Or post on this board

Thank You,
Rick Moore
Member 04100875
Home - Check of Georgia
(678) 907-7796 cell 678 907-7796