Using an iPad inspections

Hello everyone, my name is Robert and I’m in the process of starting my home inspection business in Missouri. I’ve been a contractor for over thirty years and have a decent knowledge of most all trades. Not so much with electronic devices. My 11 year old daughter may know more than me. I have a variety of questions, mostly pertaining to tools needed and electronic devices. So my first question is about using an iPad for the inspections. Is it efficient. Would you still need a camera? Would an iPhone work for camera backup? I have been looking at various softwares and will probably go with HIP. My other questions will be about the essential tools needed in the field. Thanks! Email is neighborshomeinspections@gmail.com

I use an iPad mini for HIP mobile and find it very useful. Downfall is no flash. I use my phone as an alternative. I carry digital cameras also but never use them. HIP mobile on the iPad works great, but takes some getting used to. You’ll have to use it and get use to it before you can finish the report as you go. If the client is with me I use it for pictures and to take general notes otherwise I would be constantly staring at it. Also don’t let it distract you from the actual inspection. I have a website hosted through HIP and their cloud service and the software and have been very satisfied. Customer service is excellent. Good luck!

Thanks Travis, all good to hear. I’m in the process of setting up my website with HIP. Still a lot for me to learn in building it. There support has been great.

I thought about the mini.Went with a large phone instead.Has a flash plus where you gonna set that Ipad when you go into the crawl/attic etc?

I tried an ipad and found it cumbersome, worked good but the camera part was a pain.
Wifi digital camera and write report after done, that’s how I roll.