What's the best camera

I’m new to the industry. Shopping around for a camera has proved to be a little overwhelming. I’m looking to buy what most inspectors use. If y’all could help me out it would be appreciated. Thanks.

I like thin cameras that slip into a pouch or shirt pocket.

One low cost introductory camera I used for years is the Sony Cybershot DSC-W830 ($120). Not much zoom but affordable. I am pretty hard on cameras so I typically replace them a few times a year.

Then I got addicted to zoom and went with the Cannon Power Shot SX620 HS ($400-$500). Great camera but the flash fails very quickly. I do not really need a flash so I use this it regardless.
(I do not need a flash because I wear a white shirt. I shine my flashlight towards my shirt which reflects and illuminates the area).

My recommendation, always have two and several back-up batteries.

4 Likes

Thanks man!

1 Like

Btw, Pawn shops are a good source for cheap or back-up cameras. I’ll offer 20% of the price and buy a few. Pay close attention to how the batteries are charged, because they seldom come with the accessories. Recently I picked up a couple waterproof cameras for less than $50. Very nice for those rainy days. Best of luck.

1 Like

Good lens. ZEISS. Been using Sony cameras for years. Sony DSC-H400.

1 Like

Sony Cybershot DSC-W830, great minds think a like, thats the exact one that I use, been using

2 Likes

I use a Nikon Coolpix S-4. It is a 2005 model camera with 6 megapixels and 10x optical zoom. You can buy cameras with much higher resolution but you will be displaying on a computer monitor regardless of how you deliver your reports (as web page or pdf). A high resolution picture is wasted on a low resolution device (computer screen) plus low resolution pictures are easier to store (less space) and send (email). Nikon Coolpix P100 with 26x optical for a backup camera. Bought my cameras on E-bay, good second hand equipment if your careful.

1 Like