Inspection Software recommendations (new inspector)

I’m a newly licensed Florida inspector; I’m ready to begin doing inspections and get going. I’ve noticed though that much of the software available is a bit pricey. Obviously once I begin doing inspections then the cost would be negligible but for now since I’m brand new to the business can anyone recommend the most cost effective software for compiling inspection reports. Just something to get me through my first handful of inspection until I can invest in a more beefed up and feature packed software.

Are there any software companies that charge you per inspection report?

Any feedback is greatly appreciated.

1 Like

I use Home Inspector Pro. Great program with great support and editing options. Whatever program you choose will take some work to make it your own.

1 Like

Check out Spectacular Inspection Software, Scroll down for links.

Also Tap Inspect.

2 Likes

Check with Jeff:

2 Likes

Reporthost.com

1 Like

Wow! The sample report they used in that link says prepared for Kobe Bryant!!?? That seems odd

I’m pretty sure Aaron (Spectacular’s owner) didn’t just put that up, but I agree it’s kind of a shock.

2 Likes

Here’s an article on what to consider when evaluating different software, along with links to various software.

2 Likes

Yeah… it’s been there since 2016… we loved Kobe…

1 Like

Seventeen years ago when I began inspecting dwellings for real estate transactions, the checklists were commonly three-part forms and digital photos were kept on file to back up the findings that were reported. When it became vogue to use computers to prepare reports, inspectors would craft their own narratives and would save commonly used language for future reports to save time from “reinventing the wheel”, so to speak.